The Communities

Itamapako is a town in Ijebu Ode Local Government Area of Ogun state. The town is made up of 15 communities. The communities that participated in the project to recuperate civil society space (phase III) include:  Abidagba, Iloti, Ereji, Iroto, Odosengolu and  Iwassi.

These focal communities are located at 100 kilometres East of Lagos Island, and are accessible through Epe town via the Epe ijebu-Ode link road. The  6 target  communities have been grouped together because they form a close unit, and share common social-services infrastructure such as schools, clinics, and one secondary school, together.  .

The communities have a joint population of about 15,000 inhabitants and their major occupations are  fishing, farming and  trading.